Skip to Content
Report an accessibility problem
Engineering  |  School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy
Select Page

Celebration of Excellence

Each year, SEMTE recognizes the achievements of faculty, staff and students at its annual Celebration of Excellence event. This year, due to COVID-19, we were unable to host our event. Please join us in congratulating our 2020 awardees!

Faculty Awards

Top 5% teaching

  • Werner Dahm
  • Lenore Dai
  • Hyunglae Lee
  • Ryan Milcarek
  • Kiran Solanki
  • Sef Tongay

National Science Foundation CAREER award

  • Brent Nannenga
  • Yulia Peet
  • Sze Zheng Yong

National Academy of Inventors Fellow

  • Nate Newman
  • Terry Alford

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers

  • Sef Tongay

SEMTE Staff Excellence Awards

Rising Star

  • Miriah Kleijn
  • Amy Newberg

Staff Excellence Award

  • Robert Booher
  • Samantha Ramirez
  • Molly Swindler

National Student Awards

NSF Fellowship

  • Ava Karanjia, Chemical Engineering (Faculty Advisor:  Heather Bean, Microbiology)
  • Justin Huxel, Materials Science & Engineering (Faculty Advisor:  Zach Holman, ECEE)

Goldwater Scholarship

  • Alexis Hocken, Chemical Engineering (Faculty Advisor:  Matthew Green, Chemical Engineering)

Outstanding Graduate Student Research

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

  • Shiba Biswal (Faculty advisor: Spring Berman)
  • Keju An (Faculty advisor: Jean Andino)

Materials Science Engineering

  • Lei Liu (Faculty advisor: Houlong Zhuang)

Chemical Engineering

  • Yifei Xu (Faculty advisor: Lenore Dai)
  • Jamie Handlos (Faculty advisor: Abhi Acharya)

Biological Design Engineering

  • Hanah Goetz (Faculty advisor: Xiaojun Tian – SBHSE)
  • Deepanjan Ghosh (Faculty advisor: Kaushal Rege)
  • Joel Lusk (Faculty advisor: Barbara Smith – SBHSE)
  • Devin Bowes (Faculty advisor: Rolf Halden – SEBE)

Outstanding TA/UGTA

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

  • TA – Marielle Debeurre
  • UGTA – Jessica Lin

Chemical Engineering

  • TA – Zachary Hubbard
  • UGTA – Steven Wilson

Materials Science Engineering

  • TA – Evangeline Amonoo
  • UGTA – Tanzil Chowdhury

Fulton IMPACT Service Awards

  • Claire Jordan – Mechanical Engineering
  • Ava Karnjia – Chemical Engineering
  • Tyler Souders – Aerospace Engineering (Aeronautics)
  • Eric Trinh – Chemical Engineering
  • Madison Walker – Mechanical Engineering

Outstanding Honors Thesis

  • Alex Gardeck, Mechanical Engineering (Faculty Advisor:  Mark Holl, Biological Design Engineering)
  • Tiffany Hertzell, Mechanical Engineering (Faculty Advisor: Hyunglae Lee, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering)
  • Daniel Sinclair, Materials Science and Engineering (Faculty Advisor: Nik Chawla, Materials Science and Engineering)
  • Serita Sulzman, Materials Science and Engineering (Faculty Advisors: Qing Hua Wang and Candace Chan, Materials Science and Engineering)

Outstanding Undergraduates

Aerospace Engineering

  • Outstanding Graduate: Mennatallah Hussein
  • Finalists: Ciara Sypherd, David Valderama

Mechanical Engineering

  • Outstanding Graduate: Julie Pham
  • Finalists: Clayton Bliss, Lucas Petersen, Alex Gardeck

Chemical Engineering

  • Outstanding Graduate: Maeve Kennedy (also SEMTE Outstanding Graduate)
  • Finalists: Alyssa Carlson, Shaun MacDonald, Savanah Hull, Morgan Delgado, Omar Abed

Materials Science & Engineering

  • Outstanding Graduate: Serita Sulzman
  • Finalists: Jennifer Connor, Tanzil Chowdhury, Thomas Ohrn, Justin Huxel