Pfeffer, Robert
Research Professor
Chemical Engineering
Phone: (482)965-0362
Office: ERC 257 (Map)


Prof. Robert Pfeffer spent 35 years on the faculty of the Chemical Engineering Department at the City College of CUNY as Herbert Kayser Professor, Department Chair, Dean of Graduate Studies, and Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. He moved to the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) in 1992 as Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies. After retiring as a Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering at NJIT in 2006, he joined ASU as a Research Professor. He has published more than 150 refereed journal articles, 30 conference proceedings papers, received 10 US patents, and has presented invited papers and research seminars throughout the world. In 1979, he co-founded the International Fine Particle Research Institute (IFPRI), a consortium of large multinational companies that supports particle technology research at leading universities throughout the world which is still functioning successfully today. He served as the US scientific advisor to IFPRI from 1979 to 2002.


D.Eng.Sc., Chemical Engineering, New York University (1962)
M.Ch.E., Chemical Engineering, New York University (1958)
B.Ch.E., Chemical Engineering, New York University (1956)

Research Interests

Fluidization, mixing, coating and processing of ultra-fine and nano-structured particulates; dry particle coating; agglomeration, sintering and granulation of fine particles; continuous film coating of nanosized drug particles with polymer; application of nanostructured silica aerogels for clean-up of oil spills and amine functionalized aerogels for CO2 capture.

Graduate Faculties

  • Chemical Engineering

Honors and Awards

  • AIChE, PSRI Lectureship Award in Fluidization, 2008
  • NJIT, Harlan J. Perliss Research Award, 2000
  • AlChE, Thomas Baron Award in Fluid-Particle Systems, 2000
  • AlChE, Particle Technology Forum Lifetime Achievement Award, 1995
  • AIChE Fellow, 1986
  • NSF Creativity Award, 1985
  • Fulbright – Hays Award, Technician-Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, 1976-1977